SOL: Reggae, Bob Marley & Jamaica

jamaica

There was a time in my life during college where I lived in an apartment with my best friend & we lived next to a girl & her boyfriend who was from Zambia. They introduced me to Steel Pulse, Bob Marley, Collie Buddz and all other reggae. I became slightly obsessed.

Just the peacefulness of reggae and the mellow beats, I loved it. Steel Pulse was and is still my favorite band. We used to go see them in concerts like every year that they came to NYC. Being in NYC, it gave me many opportunities to see different concerts and bands. I was so lucky.

For my birthday in 2012 my friends and I decided to go to Jamaica. It was one of the best trips ever. We made many friends and we partied hard.

jam 1

We didn’t stay in the all inclusive resorts and everyone said that we were crazy to stay on the strip because it was a dangerous place to be. Obviously, we were young and dumb and had no fear.jam 2

Therefore, we stayed on the strip and stayed out to all hours of the night, met some people and did whatever we could to enjoy the island.

jam 3

We went in March and it was extremely hot, which was amazing because it was snowing back home.

jam 4

The best part of the Caribbean is that the water is so blue. Not only is it blue, but the sand on the bottom of the water is white and you can see everything on the ground so no little critters can get you. The water also extremely warm, even at night, very warm! So amazing.

jam 5

A fun restaurant we went to was the Jamaican bob sledding restaurant. I cannot for the life of me remember the name of it, but it was awesome. Obviously we had to take this picture. I think we drank starting early in the morning to late, late at night. Good times!

jam 6This was the main strip in Montego Bay – not a bad little town. Really nice to visit and I honestly wouldn’t recommend just staying in the all inclusive. We had so much fun roaming the streets and meeting people. But then again, it is not a trip for everything – not so much a location for families, I guess unless you do the all inclusive.

Jamaica was a place for a girls trip. I enjoyed the trip with my girls. I would love, love, love to go back with them.

jam

 

Beautiful Jamaica.

jam jamjam jam 2

To end my Jamaica remembrance with my tattoo quote that was part of a Bob Marley song that was the quote of my college/after college life time: “ONE GOOD THING ABOUT MUSIC, WHEN IT HITS YOU FEEL NO PAIN!”

___________________________________________________

Join our Slice of Life Writing. Thank you Two Writing Teachers for putting this together every week!

img_9104

 

14 thoughts on “SOL: Reggae, Bob Marley & Jamaica

  1. I feel like I escaped to Jamaica for a few minutes and enjoyed the journey. You brought it to life. I LOVE reggae music and could hear it as I read your story. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have great memories of Jamaica. Fresh crab dinner by candlelight at dusk at a table set in the sand beside the surf … linens and wonderful service & food. Very romantic! Markets. River falls. Mountain villages. Trucks belching diesel exhaust as they climbed the mountain road. Buses with chickens as passengers, with people hanging on to the top and the back. Scary traffic that seemed to follow no road rules. I remember that the towns and cities did not sleep at night. And everywhere, the sound of reggae.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Glad you enjoyed it here, must’ve been such a great birthday. I LOVE that you didn’t opt to stay at an all-inclusive resort, and actually got to experience real people and culture.

    Like

Leave a comment