SOL: Schools Out for Summer

img_9104-1

The end of every school year is bitter sweet. It is mid-June and you are ready, the students are ready, the admin is ready, even your furniture in your classroom is ready.

But it’s bitter sweet, because you don’t want them to go, but you are so tired that it just needs to end already.

This past year as 3rd grade was my favorite by far. The kids were just easy going, barely any problems, barely any attitudes and just kids being kids. I had a lot of babies still in my room. We had a fun thing where the kids just brought in stuffed animals and they kept them at their desks. It got a little out of hand when the whole class started bringing them in but they liked it. They are still kids. And I can guarantee, some of the kids that really liked them, don’t have any at home.

This year I learned how to be a different teacher. I learned that I did not always have to be strict and that we could still do silly things and learn at the same time. I learned to listen to my kids and they will tell me everything. Sometimes its toooo much but then you just sit and you listen! These kids needed people to listen to them.

I turned them into readers and writers. We read and wrote every single day and it showed! I am so proud of that. They really enjoyed writing and reading and that was a personal goal for me.

The fact that I have another year in the same grade and the same school, is amazing! I will be able to perfect my teaching for next year because I already went through it this year!

I hope over the summer I can gain some new hope and skills and strategies to use in my teaching tool belt!

Now…. professional development and tracking back to New York!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Join our Slice of Life Writing every Tuesday with Two Writing Teachers!

18 thoughts on “SOL: Schools Out for Summer

  1. Congrats on a great year! After years of looping and a grade change last year, I’m heading into my second year in the same grade and understand your excitement! I, too, have thoroughly enjoyed my class this year, but am very ready for the year to end. Enjoy your break!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What can be better than a year where everyone learns something new, teacher and students alike. Glad that you will have the same level next year and will be able to expand on what you did for your students this year. Enjoy your summer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

