SOL: D30, Summer Workshop List for Teachers

Positively-Learning-Busy-Teachers-Summer-Professional-Development

 

I don’t know about you, but I have a serious problem with not signing myself up for things to volunteer to do, to pay to do, or just to go ahead and do!

This is usually only for school and professional development, or anything that relates to school. For those of you who like to sign up for multiple professional developments over the summer, I have a few that you can look through that are online.

This past summer, I found out about Teachers Write by author Kate Messner. I joined into her writing program for teacher bloggers online, but my whole heart wasn’t in it, so I didn’t contribute as much as I should have.

Last year, I also did the National Writing Project that was being offered in my area. It was a lot of fun! I loved being apart of a PLC and a writing community. It made my long days of sitting around during summer into proactive days where I was accomplishing writing lessons for the next school year.

I used my school districts professional development to sign up for some NGSS science workshops over the summer. Check out the NGSS website if you are interested in finding out more science professional development.

If you live in NYC, which I did and now I don’t and wish I knew about this, The Teachers College Reading & Writing Project summer workshop. God I wish I could go to this!!!! Maybe next summer I will try and apply, this summer is just too crazy to be going to NYC in end of June and then stay all the way until August, it’s unrealistic.

Here are some super random classes for teachers all over the county and many different topics, but they seem pretty amazing.

The sisters from the Daily 5 Cafe are having workshops all over the country this summer starting in June, make sure to check them out!

I also reached out to my local library to see what I could do with them, and I am meeting them next week.

love posts like this. I actually look for things like this and I really hope this is of interest to other bloggers who are teachers as well. What I have noticed as a teacher is that you really need to go out and find professional development opportunities. Unless your principal is really involved and does that for you, you could be missing out on tons of learning opportunities! I hope you enjoyed my list.

___________________________________

I am writing with the Slice of Life Writing Challenge headed by the Two Writing Teachers. It has a been a wonderful experience, and I encourage you to join us regularly for Tuesday posts.

img_5028-6

19 thoughts on “SOL: D30, Summer Workshop List for Teachers

  1. I’ve been tempted to do the Kate Messner online class, but I am commitment phobic in the summer. I think I will reconsider it for this summer. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  2. Your post is much appreciated… and you are right– “What I have noticed as a teacher is that you really need to go out and find professional development opportunities.” We have to be responsible for our own learning. One year I took a six week email course on sketching. I loved it, learned a lot, and it was free… that reminds me, I’m committing (to myself) to do some sketching with my blogging this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of the best summers I had was when I attended the Summer Writing Institute at Penn State Harrisburg. It revitalized my teaching and changed how taught for my last 13 years of teaching. You have a great list here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the list! I also wanted to do Kate Messner’s summer writing camp, and need to consider it again this summer! It’s a great communit, very supportive.

    I’ve always wanted to do the Teacher’s College workshops, too! I’m not sure where you are now that you’re not in NYC, but nErDcampMI is a free PD opportunity in Michigan. It’s phenomenal! Imagine a community that supports literacy – reading and writing sessions, and that’s just scratching the surface! Many edu-heroes and author/illustrator heroes attend. It’s 7 hours from me and my district doesn’t pay for my expenses, but I don’t even care—it’s that amazing!

    Like

  5. I would love to do nErDcamp, and hope to eventually get a similar event started in the Pacific NW, where I live. A few summers ago I did a course with Dominican College, an online school, and got 6 graduate credits for designing my own teacher development activities all summer long. Basically, if it was going to help me with my teaching, it counted. Reading. Curriculum development. Mastering new apps. It was a great way to keep that summer feeling of doing what I wanted, when I wanted, while still motivating me to do professional work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

