SOL: The Story of Friendship

This picture shows my best friend T, her kids, and my and my daughter. 

When I first met her, I never would have thought we would take this picture. We met in college,2002. 


We moved into the same dorm room the next year but decided to get an apartment instead half way through and we lived in two different apartments before moving to our own ones. 

We have been through hell and back. Drugs, vacations, friends, men, cigarettes, coffee, jobs, countries, road trips, city trips, shore trips, crazy ex’s. You name it. 

Then one day this stupid guy tore us apart. Well more so took me away from her and I stupidly followed. 

In my early years, I was a nice person and a serious push over. I let a man tell me who I could and couldn’t be friends with me I was so driven by what men thought, I let my best friend go in the process. 

What an idiot I was. I was so miserable with this guy. But we went on vacations to Peru, Costa Rica, Spain, Portugal, Bahamas, etc. it seemed worth it at the time. 

But then his alcoholism took over and I couldn’t stand it anymore I needed out. The break up process was seriously horrible. I was like 22/23 and we were living together. I had to find another place to live. 

Literally the day I moved out I called up T.  I couldn’t believe she would speak to me. But she told me she had just went through a horrible break up of an engagement and it was almost like meant to be that we came back together. 

We met up in Ridgewood, New Jersey for lunch and stayed for hours. I couldn’t stop apologizing. It felt amazing to have my friend back. 

Literally amazing ! 

That was almost 6 years ago. 

It’s so hard to say the regrets you have in life and if you could go back would you change then etc. I think about it and it’s always a yes and no. The obvious reason about losing my best friend. But then again I had the chance to travel to those places that most likely again in life I will not go. But it’s a give and take. You can’t have it all. 

I know now that I was Stupid for letting a man rule my life. It would never happen like that again. Ever. 

I hope to pass this message to my daughter so she doesn’t make the same type of mistake I made by letting someone else take control of her life. 

We are still best friends. She lived in Dubai for 2 years so that made it hard to see each other but friendship knows no distance. 

Now we are arizona and Washington state. 

No matter where we are, our friendship will remain clear. 

Join our Slice of Life writing! 

15 thoughts on “SOL: The Story of Friendship

  1. What a great post on friendship. Don’t beat yourself up too much about following that guy, Maybe that’s the lesson you needed to learn and your friend was a true friend and forgave you. Life long friends are the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I appreciate the honest with which you write. The ups & downs you document reminded me of this Ralph Waldo Emerson quote I came across recently: “It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

