SOL: End of the Summer, Teacher Version


Every single year this happens. 

June you are ready to go after professional development and you want to prep for next year but you have so much time. 

July. You have even more time!!! Some teachers do crafts, lots of kid time, vacations, projects around the house, nothing, tan, read, have no reason to get out of bed, drink mimosas, meet up with friends. July seems like it could literally last f.o.r.e.v.e.r.   This is also the month you forget what day it is. 

For me the past 3 years I have taught, I have switched schools. Charter to public to Rural. This is the first time ever I have stayed at the same school teaching. So some of my normal yearly worries in July were, will I make friends? How will the kids be? Is the curriculum hard? What are my teaching partners like? Will I like the school? Did I make the right choice? 

After experiencing a July where I did not have to worry about the answer to those questions, I felt really at ease and like I had a lot more time and freedom to do all of the things above that other teachers do. 

August. Things are moving way too fast. Now you start the official countdown. 30 days until school starts. That seems like a long time until you have obligations the last two weeks of August and then you really just have two weeks. Freaking out and panic struck you realize all the things that you didn’t accomplish this summer and really freak out.

August becomes some sort of power house mode where you are rushing to get in every single bit of summer left ! Determination to get it all done before school starts, as if there are no weekends during the school year. 

This month has gone too quick. Being on vacation for two weeks caused half my month to be gone when I got home. Now I am in a frantic rush to setup my 3rd grade classroom since I switched rooms and grades. The peace that I have not changing schools and already knowing everyone and the procedures is so calming and peaceful that it helps this frantic rush time to get all done before school starts. 


I love summer. I don’t want it to end. But I know it’s that time. And I will have to move back to the real world and reality again.  

Do you experience any of these feelings? 
Like my story? Join us and write at Slice of Life. 

18 thoughts on “SOL: End of the Summer, Teacher Version

  1. Yes…I experience a similar pattern each summer. Once I get into my summer mode, it’s difficult to switch back into school mode. And August feels like a giant countdown clock.

    Like

  2. You nailed it! Though my summers are shorter as a librarian, and get even shorter than that when bookended by professional development. I still haven’t cleaned my desk at home, and that was my number one summer goal!

    Like

    • Everyone thinks teachers have all this time off to frolick on the beach(including my husband ) but in reality the things I do during the time off are way opposite that like unpack a classroom!!! That is not easy !

      Like

  3. Reading your post was like walked though a familiar path in the woods. Month by month our summer slips away. But there is the promise of a new school year and all the great paths you will take. Enjoy the school year!

    Like

  4. I’m retired now, but I remember the August rush. I used to say summer vacation was like the weekend–June is Friday; July is Saturday; and August is Sunday! Sunday–the day when you begin to get that feeling in the pit of your stomach, something like heartburn mixed with excitement mixed with dread. Anxiety? Yet, we wake up on Monday morning and venture forth to new beginnings. Love what you do.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know how you feel! I work part time at the school and enjoy my summers off. It’s going to be a real adjustment when I go back to work full time. 🙂

    Like

  6. I thought I had plenty of time to get ready. Now I only have one more week before I need to go back! Where did the time go? P.S. I love the pictures on your blog!

    Like

  7. Yes, you noted many familiar feelings. It is so nice that you didn’t switch schools this year and therefore got to enjoy a real summer. May it linger in your heart as you begin your new school year! Best wishes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

