Why College Should Start in Your 20’s


Did you know what you wanted to do when you went to college at 18? Are you still in that profession using your degree now ?

If I knew what I knew now, there is no way I would have wasted my time getting a BA in Communications! After I wasted my time doing that, I spent 8 more years in grad school getting my masters in education! What a waste. I’m sure not everyone has that same situation happen to them but if I had experienced life and working before I went to college, I would have been able to make better decisions. 

From what I learned about college, here are the top 5 reasons of why kids should go to college in their 20s after working a bit. 

  1. They have no idea what they want to do and college costs a LOT of money. 
  2. Make sure you know which school is best to go to for your major and not just because it was the only one that accepted you. 
  3. Partying too hard from being let loose from parents site is a big problem and usually causes more waste in a lot of money. 
  4. It is not for everyone. 
  5. Know about a career before you invest hundreds of thousands of dollars of yours or the banks or your parents money. 

Granted I didn’t do any of this and I did basically the complete opposite and I don’t say that I regret any of it but when my daughter gets ready for college I will give her a ton of advice that I did not know and hope she’ll wait before going to college undecided. 

6 thoughts on “Why College Should Start in Your 20’s

  1. I can see validity in the points you make. Which is why I think the gap-year experience is gaining momentum. Although I was ready to head off to college at 18, if I had to do it all over again, I would have taken a gap year.

    Like

  2. It really depends on the child. Some kids do know what they want to & have taken the time to prepare.

    I’m not saying that’s me though! Haha. I definitely still had no idea @ 18 what I wanted to let. I thought I did, but I didn’t. I wish I would’ve saved myself from unnecessary debt… But you live and you learn I suppose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

