#Teacherswrite summer workshop for teachers

typewriter

I was reading through blogs last night and found this really incredible site and writing workshop that is online and ALL summer long.  I know I am a teacher and I am supposed to be on summer break, but there is only so much time you can actually sit by the pool and drink margaritas (j/k this is not my life).

However, I have not even officially started my summer yet, because the week after school ended we had a whole week of professional development and I am a geek and love stuff like that. Then I started the National Writing Project workshop that lasts two weeks, my last week is this coming week. THEN my summer will really start and then I wonder to myself what the hell am I going to do with all of my time? While my daugther goes to daycare and plays all day, I will alternate between yoga, boot camp, barre classes and the pool. Then we go to New York for two weeks and when we come back it will be August and I will start working on my classroom.

But what I found was another sort of online professional development for teachers to learn writing. It runs from June 27-end of August and I am a little late to sign into but they said that was okay and I can just jump in anytime. I went back and looked at some of the posts that I had missed and there are so many teachers already involved in the online lessons and over 450 comments with their responses. I am baffled!! 1. How have I never heard of this before? 2. How do other people hear of these things?! 3. How do I sign up on a list to get informed about these things!!

Please check it out, the author in charge is Kate Messner. The workshop is called #Teacherswrite. Click that link to access it. If you are someone who strives to be better at your job, this is the right place for you to be and to participate in with lik 600+ other teachers AND author’s who are doing the posts as well!

{photo credit}

Leave a Reply

